f↗fitmysaasBook a call →

Blog · Automation · Updated · By the FitMySaaS team

Zapier vs Make vs n8n pricing for small teams (2026)

Short answer: For the same workflow, Zapier usually costs the most, Make the least on list price, and n8n sits between them unless you self-host. The reason is the billing unit. Zapier charges per action step (task), Make per module run (credit), and n8n per whole workflow run (execution). A three-step workflow run 1,000 times is 3,000 Zapier tasks but only 1,000 n8n executions.

How does each tool charge?

The billing unit decides your bill more than the headline price.

Tool Billing unit What counts Source
Zapier Task Each action step that runs successfully. Triggers, filters, paths and failed steps are free. Zapier task guide
Make Credit Each action a scenario performs. Most actions use 1 credit; some AI features use more. Routers and error handlers are free. Make pricing
n8n Execution One run of the entire workflow, no matter how many steps. n8n pricing

So step count matters a lot on Zapier and Make, and hardly at all on n8n.

What do the plans cost in 2026?

Prices below are list prices from each vendor's own pages, checked October 2026. n8n prices its plans in euros.

Plan Price Included usage Users
Zapier Free $0 100 tasks/mo, two-step Zaps only 1
Zapier Professional $19.99/mo yearly, $29.99 monthly 750 tasks/mo 1
Zapier Team $69/mo yearly, $103.50 monthly 2,000 tasks/mo Up to 25
Make Free $0 1,000 credits/mo Not stated
Make Core From $9/mo 10,000 credits/mo Not stated
Make Pro From $16/mo 10,000 credits/mo Not stated
Make Teams From $29/mo 10,000 credits/mo Team features
n8n Starter (cloud) €20/mo billed yearly 2,500 executions/mo Unlimited
n8n Pro (cloud) €50/mo billed yearly 10,000 executions/mo Unlimited
n8n Business (self-hosted) €667/mo billed yearly 40,000 executions/mo Unlimited
n8n Community (self-hosted) Free No execution fee Your server

Zapier figures are from zapier.com/pricing. Make figures are from Make's own comparison page. n8n figures are from n8n.io/pricing, which says all n8n plans include unlimited users and workflows.

What does the same workflow cost on each?

Take one common workflow: a new web form lead creates a CRM contact, posts a Slack alert and adds a task in your project tool. That is one trigger and three actions.

Assume 1,000 leads a month. This is an illustration, not a benchmark.

Tool Usage per month Plan that fits List price
Zapier 3,000 tasks Professional 5,000 tier (1 user) or Team 5,000 tier $89/mo or $119/mo yearly
Make At least 3,000 credits Core, 10,000 credits From $9/mo
n8n Cloud 1,000 executions Starter, 2,500 executions €20/mo yearly
n8n self-hosted 1,000 executions Community Free, plus your server and time

On list price alone, Zapier costs roughly ten times Make for this one workflow. Add a fourth action and Zapier jumps to 4,000 tasks, while n8n still counts 1,000 executions.

What is not in the price?

Each tool has a cost that the plan table hides.

Which one should a small team pick?

When one system makes more sense

Automation tools are the right answer when you have a few stable tools that need to talk. If you are comparing automation platforms because the number of flows keeps growing, the stack itself may be the problem: the same lead, ticket or project is living in four places.

FitMySaaS builds teams of 10 to 40 one system that holds those records once, which removes most of the glue. Our guide to custom software vs SaaS covers the trade-offs honestly, and the SaaS cost calculator shows what your current tools cost.

Questions

Is n8n really free?

The self-hosted Community edition has no license fee, per n8n's hosting docs. You still pay for the server and for someone to install, secure, update and back it up.

Is Make cheaper than Zapier?

On list price, yes, by a wide margin for multi-step flows. Make's Core plan lists 10,000 credits from $9 a month, while Zapier's 750-task plan is $19.99 a month billed yearly.

Why does n8n count executions instead of steps?

That is its pricing choice. n8n says an execution is one run of the whole workflow regardless of complexity, so a 10-step workflow costs the same as a 2-step one.

Can you try these before paying?

Yes. Zapier and Make both have free plans. n8n Cloud offers a trial with no credit card, limited to 1,000 executions, per its pricing page.

Add up your SaaS bill →More articles